A small lodge, an infirmary, nine cabins, and an outdoor chapel. That was Camp Marymount when we first opened our screened doors in 1946.
Through the decades that have followed, summer upon summer, hundreds of young campers have descended upon this rolling, wooded expanse of pristine Middle Tennessee soil to experience and appreciate God's natural gifts.
And thousands have returned home with shared memories that have shaped their lives. Of toothpaste-covered cabins and trunk inspections. Of songs at dawn and songs at dusk. Of friendships and firelight. Of crosses and canoes.
Camp Marymount was established in 1939 originally under the name of Camp Happy Hollow and located in Joelton, Tennessee as a Catholic residential camp owned by the Diocese of Nashville. In 1945 Monsignor George Rohling purchased 147 acres in Fairview, TN, which would provide more space and a better environment for campers. The new camp was named in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary and has been the home of Marymount ever since. Camp Marymount saw its first campers in the summer of 1946. In 1948, Senior Camp was added. 1951 brought the dedication of St. Anthony's Chapel. In 1959 Marymount had 138 campers and 22 counselors.
Today, Camp Marymount has a total of 340 beautiful acres and continues to use many of the original buildings, providing the Marymount camping experience to over 600 campers each summer with the help of 70 counselors and support staff. Marymount is open to girls and boys of all faiths between the ages of six and sixteen. Camp Marymount is now accredited by the American Camping Association and is financially independent of the Nashville Diocese. Marymout campers hail from 18 different states, Mexico and Canada and many of today's campers are third generation.